Fast Food Review – McDonald’s Fruit and Maple Oatmeal

In an effort to provide full disclosure I should let everyone know I can count the number of times I have been in McDonald’s in the last decade on one hand.

So when I was invited to the McDonald’s in my neighborhood for a sneak peek first taste of their new Fruit & Maple Oatmeal with brown sugar (launching mid-December) and the hot and iced McCafe Caramel Mocha, I hesitated but said sure. It was close to my apartment so I really wasn’t going out of my way to stop in.

Walked over to the event today with my guy and went upstairs to find an unexpected McDonald’s dining space. Modern chairs. Fun designs on the wall. A lounge area with a flat screen television. I’ll assume the potted plants and flowers were placed on tables just for the event.

The set up for the event on the bar stool area was quite cute. All of the ingredients for the oatmeal decorating the tabletop gave me an idea of what was to come.


I’m not a big fan of oatmeal by itself so unless it has something in it.. raisins… fruit flavor I won’t even consider eating it. But with the McDonald’s Fruit & Maple Oatmeal with brown sugar (it can be ordered without brown sugar as well) having both apples and raisins in it, I was interested in how the new product would taste.

My thoughts on the Fruit & Maple Oatmeal …

I liked the Fruit & Maple Oatmeal. And so did my guy. I let him taste some and before I knew it I was looking for the hunky waiter to come by with the tray again so I could grab another. “Someone” wasn’t too interested in returning my cup of oatmeal.

I was a big fan of the real fruit in the oatmeal and think it was definitely a tasty breakfast option. And according to press material handed to me when I arrived, the oatmeal has two-thirds of a day’s worth of 100 percent natural whole grain oats and contains a half-cup of a variety of fresh and dried fruit.

I was able to try it for free because I was at the McDonald’s First Taste event so I am curious to see how much it will cost when it is in McDonald’s locations. I think when it was tested in other markets it was $1.99 but since I am in Manhattan, prices are usually higher. In that case, I wouldn’t pay more than $3.99 for it because then I would just remind myself I can make some oatmeal at home. And although it was hearty and only 290 calories (with brown sugar), I worry it may not keep me satisfied until lunch.

As for the McCafe Caramel Mocha …

I’m a big fan of caramel (especially on a dish of ice cream!) so the iced McCafe Caramel Mocha was a hit for me. My guy tried the hot McCafe Caramel Mocha and although he prefers hot chocolate to coffee drinks, he liked it enough to consider buying it. Those are both already on the menu at the McDonald’s location near me.

Leave a Reply

